BILD

“And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the Lord. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”  – Jeremiah 31:34

I can’t wait for heaven! The day we don’t have to worry about who gets in and who doesn’t will be a huge burden off my shoulders, just to be honest.  But the fact remains that 2,000 years ago we were given the greatest gift the world has ever seen. The ability to know the God of gods and the King of kings is ours, but yet hundreds of people cycle through the revolving doors of the church only to go back into the world unprepared and under equipped.

There is a quandary that I’ve been thrust into as a result of the time I’ve spent thus far in the Antioch School. How is it that so many people can know of Jesus and this gift of life we’ve been given, and do nothing more than consume it?

I may not be at fault in this directly but the question I’m asking myself as a result is “What have I done about it? What can I do about it?”. I’ve always told myself that, instead of removing myself from something because it doesn’t work right, to be a part of the solution no matter how small or big the contribution requires. But I’m finding that in this situation I’ve recognized this issue for a long time but never have had adequate tools in order to do anything about it, or so I’ve felt.

And so I’ve been forced to contemplate why I now know what to do but didn’t only months ago. Why is it that I felt so insufficient to solve this problem head on prior to participating in Antioch School? Why haven’t I even been a part of the solution? The answer is of course: training.

It took training my mind to think in terms of a missionary. I am being trained to go and make disciples of all nations. Discipleship is now not only something I think of as an instrumental part of the church but as a mandatory function. If we don’t make an investment of the saints in the church as leaders than all we get are revolving doors where people walk in, consume the word of God, and walk right back out.

My cohort in the Antioch School and I have a tool now, called BILD. It is a provision from the Antioch School for the purpose of equipping the leaders in the church to engage every believer in the first principles of Christianity. When used as discussion based curriculum rather than small group Bible study material, the curriculum provided in the BILD program becomes an amazing tool.

We have started to implement this tool in a once a month “conference” where we simply build up a group to in turn teach the material to another group. This is becoming a part of the life of our church and we see it as becoming an instrumental tool at Grace Place Church. It could be the beginning steps toward widespread organic discipleship throughout the church! We are very excited to see it’s impact and await anxiously to see the Lord work mightily through the equipping of His saints!!

If you’d like to read more about BILD International simply click.

About nickrfultz

I've never been real great at these "about me" sections. I struggle with narrowing my whole life down to just one statement. But since I have to, I'm a Christian first and foremost. But that doesn't mean I'm hokie. I despise the superficial culture we live in. But I loathe insincere Christians. I feel my calling in life is to be an advocate for people who aren't heard or seen, or not seen as socially adept or widely accepted. Whether those people are Christian or not I could care less. I am just drawn to them. As one of them, I am bothered by the separation that exists in the church from this people type and violently attempt to combat it. This blog, "The Antioch Process", stems from this disposition that I have. It serves as a way for me to convey to the world that in the face of adversity, no matter who we are or where we are, there is a calling to the work of a missionary as a Christian. We should all be in this together! Theologically this blog is saturated, although I'm not a theologian. But the hope is that by illustrating biblical truth in a compelling manner per what I am learning through a theological education people will be stirred to live out their calling!

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Practicum. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

