Getting a late start…

So I’m already two courses into the program.  This of course is not before I’ve started in the Antioch School, and I already have tons of material to post.  But for sake of not overwhelming this site before it really gets off the ground I will slowly work my way into posting what I’ve got so far.  I will start with the Acts course.  It has been a very eye-opening course that has taught me much of the role the church should play, not only in a given community but in the world at large.  I’ve now gained a heart for missions through taking this course.  I’ve always had the perception that if we Christians would actually live out our faith and function as the body of Christ should be – effectively ministering to its own back yard – that missions would be obsolete and irrelevant. I have learned from studying the book of Acts in this course, and what the Great Commission really was, that we are supposed to emulate what Paul the Apostle did.  Which was plant churches. It is the purpose of the church to continually reproduce churches on a consistent basis. If we aren’t doing that then we are not functioning the way the church was designed to. A lack of planting churches can be an indication of either a stagnate faith in a stagnate congregation, or a lack of vision and quality leadership.  The book of Acts is very clear to say that if we aren’t pursuing people to the ends of the earth that we are not fulfilling the Great Commission. The method is a vital living church. The function is church planting. Church planting should be our purpose in missions locally or abroad.  If we go and minister to a group of people in some foreign land/community but never plug them into a church we have done nothing for those people. It would be similar to giving birth to a child and abandoning them as soon as they could walk. It’s cruel and heartless to introduce someone to Jesus without equipping them to go and do the same. That is what the church is for. Since any given person would struggle with this on their own, since we all struggle with walking with Jesus, the church is here to lead us all and walk with us.  It is the hands and feet of Jesus.  So if we involve ourselves with missions in any shape or form (local or abroad) it is our duty to do so with the intent of either planting a church to plug those we minister to into, or to work alongside a church that we can plug them into.

About nickrfultz

I've never been real great at these "about me" sections. I struggle with narrowing my whole life down to just one statement. But since I have to, I'm a Christian first and foremost. But that doesn't mean I'm hokie. I despise the superficial culture we live in. But I loathe insincere Christians. I feel my calling in life is to be an advocate for people who aren't heard or seen, or not seen as socially adept or widely accepted. Whether those people are Christian or not I could care less. I am just drawn to them. As one of them, I am bothered by the separation that exists in the church from this people type and violently attempt to combat it. This blog, "The Antioch Process", stems from this disposition that I have. It serves as a way for me to convey to the world that in the face of adversity, no matter who we are or where we are, there is a calling to the work of a missionary as a Christian. We should all be in this together! Theologically this blog is saturated, although I'm not a theologian. But the hope is that by illustrating biblical truth in a compelling manner per what I am learning through a theological education people will be stirred to live out their calling!

Posted on February 23, 2011, in Practicum. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

